Collaged Tray

Just one form collage can take

Just one form collage can take

This is a great project for a beginner in mixed media. I took a craft store tray, distressed it with a box knife and sealed it. Then I painted it a mustardy yellow color with acrylic paints and applied antique paper epherma in the form of art ads with a collage medium. At this point, I felt the color was too bright so I rubbed the entire piece carefully with a rag dipped in burnt sienna, making sure to get it into the distressed parts of the wood. I liked the patina it gave to the piece. I then coated the entire piece with a few coats of glossy Mod Podge as I felt it needed a bit of “life”.  I like the results and the project was very easy to complete.

A STUDY IN RED, WHITE & BLACK

Red White & Black collage on wood

Red White & Black collage on wood

 This was fun to do with a vintage black and white photo from the 1930’s as a starting point and building on the three color scheme. I started with a thin piece of wood I found in my husband’s shop. I put an unevenly spread coat of gesso on the wood for texture and let it dry. Then a color wash of true red which I dabbed with a paper towel while wet for an uneven look. After the paint dried, I went to town building in a block pattern with scraps of fabric and papers, etc and I even threw an old photo negative on for interest. Cover with a few coats of matte meduim and you’re done!

PASTEL POSTCARD

Unusual for me to use pastel colors but liked the results of this light themed collage on heavy cardboard

Unusual for me to use pastel colors but liked the results of this light themed collage on heavy cardboard

This all started with a very loose watercolor painting I did of poppies. I cut the painting to fit the heavy stock cardboard backing and worked it loosely from there using rubber stamps with a  light blue ink, a few cut outs of flowers, a butterfly, a real postage stamp with some envelope still attached, a rubbing, some sheet music,  little rectangles of  tissue paper here & there and some glued on words from the heart!

Leave a Reply

