Shade Garden

Don’t you just love to walk around your gardens in the early morning with a cup of coffee in one hand and your camera in the other? I took these shots a few days ago. Enjoy!

Hanging Plants on Patio

Hanging Plants on Patio

I have this awesome plant holder that my clever son-in-law made for me. It’s on our back patio and every year I hang a variety of potted plants on it. There are a few favorites that I feel I must put out there each year because I enjoy them so much. The Fuchsia is one that I love for it’s beautiful and colorful blooms that look like little lanterns in pink & purple. Another that I favor is the bright blue lobelia that performs a knock out show for me all summer long.  Diascia is a real show off too with it’s dainty, deep pink flowers. I also have a bright yellow Lantana, A  white, cascading Bacopa , a single Petunia and a hybrid called Supertunia that has double blooms. Because of all the spring rain this year,  I did loose a Superbells Calibrachoa hybrid and the Bacopa is a little leggy too. But all in all, I love looking out there and seeing the shed peeking through all those colorful blooms.  It’s very enjoyable to eat a meal on the patio with the nice backdrop of posies and my hubby’s wonderful tomato plants! (you can see a few tomato plants to the right of the hanging flowers)
Shade Garden

Shade Garden

I love our little shade garden. We expanded it a bit this year and though you can’t see them in this shot, some of those many Hostas I transplanted ended up here, bordering one side of the shed. It’s also a great spot for the antique bird bath.  A garden angel, who is tucked back into the far corner, keeps watch over the little visitors to this shady haven. This particular shot has our neighbors house in the background.

Leave a Reply

