Aboard the Mary Patten

Aboard the Mary Patten

Aboard the Mary Patten

I found these black and white photos in with a bunch of old photos from an elderly relative who was throwing them away. I have no idea who the folks pictured are except that they may be distant relatives. What I found interesting was that they were obviously on a ship and upon closer examination, I read an inscription someone had added which said “Aboard the Mary Patten”.  The date was Sept. 9, 1925. I was curious so I went on line and found that Mary Patten was a famous ship Captain’s wife back in the 1800’s so the ship these folks were sailing on must have been named after her. I believe they were sailing to Scotland. I copied a map of North and South America in black and white for the background and clipped a few articles about Captain Patten & his wife Mary and inserted snippets of those on the pages.  Fun to sit and dream of who these folks were and how long they would be sailing for!!

2 Comments »

  1. Ah! This is perfect! Thanks for countering many
    misunderstandings I had heard on this as of late.

    • theartfulcodger Said:

      I would be so interested to hear what you have to offer on this subject if you get time!
      Thanks, Maron


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

