Beauty all around us..

 Old Willies truck

Old Willies truck

There is beauty all around us if we will only take the time to see it. My Son has this old Willies, rust bucket of a truck that his Dad wishes he would get rid of. It sits beside his garage between our two houses, surrounded by gorgeous garden scapes. As I was photographing some plants a few weeks ago, the old truck came into my view finder along with some Tiger Lilies. What a beautiful juxtaposition of two ends of a spectrum!! I got to walking around that truck and looking at it with an altered perspective! What simple, beautiful lines…that we do not see anymore. Not streamlined enough for today’s standards, the distinct angles of the old truck are now alien enough to draw attention to the eye. The patina of the peeling paint and rusted spots are the texture that gives the truck its history. Like a lined, weathered face of an old loved one, the truck has character. It made a beautiful picture when I brought it up on the computer to edit it and, as such..ended up in one of my compositions. Is there beauty in old? Is there beauty in rust? Oh yes, my friends..if you just look from the right angle… 

Willies Jeep side

6 Comments »

  1. Bonnie Gogolski Said:

    I love how you can find beauty… even in an old “abandoned and rusted” truck. If only the rest of the world could be so observant!
    Love ya!
    Bon

  2. And I love how you are not afraid to leave a comment. That’s what an Art Blog is all about. I do get some private e-mails about posts but sometimes it’s frustrating to be read but not understood (or that’s the way it seems when there are days with dozens of “hits” but no comments..lol!)

  3. Cathy Strackbein Said:

    I feel the same about my old fence in the driveway. So many people tell me that I should have it painted or replaced with a new white vinyl. I think it has character and a beauty that only comes with age.

    • theartfulcodger Said:

      I agree. Nothing beats that aged patina! Good for you for not “folding” to pressure…=)

  4. Hi, Sorry for not coming to your blog sooner. It’s really beautifully done and I love your descriptions and feelings. Keep it up. Will be in touch.

    • I’m so glad that you finally got to take a litle visit through my blog. Come back soon and often!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

