A Great Week!

Studio naps

Studio naps

What a wonderful “stay-cation” I had last week! The Donald was away on a Canadian fishing trip with our son so I was free to just come and go on my own schedule. Is there anything nicer than being in your own house all alone once in a while? Even my hubby agrees that it is a luxury. So it was just me and Maggie and she doesn’t care what I do as long as she gets her meals, treats, walks and loving! She spent hours on end curled up in the raggy little chair in the studio while I created my heart out.  I worked hard and I have a new group of art to show for it.

I spent one day of last week with an artist friend and we went to several galleries and art venues displaying shows of some very talented local artists. It was such a nice day spent with a good pal. The big news of that day is that I will be having a show of my work in November!! YIPES! More about this exciting development as plans solidify…=)

I spent another day doing a chore that I don’t relish and that is matting and framing art. But, once done, it is very satisfying to stand back and appreciate the effect that ” presentation” has on your art. It does make all the difference. The thing is, with collages, the presentation varies dramatically with the content of the art piece. The pieces that are more three dimensional can be challenging to frame and some of the less dimensional ones do not look good if they are matted…another challenge.  I’m trying to be creative about the whole presentation aspect of my art. I don’t want to get bogged down by trying to decipher what is “right” and what is “wrong” for each piece. I’m trying to go with my gut since I am the creator of the piece. So far, so good!

I’ve been doing some pieces that are very different from the art of this past summer. Maybe it’s the changing seasons or maybe it’s another evolution of my style. Whatever it is, I am just going with it and allowing myself to have those days when it’s okay to make any art…even bad art because those pieces can be reworked at a later date and, as I have discovered, may turn out to be some of my favorites! 

So for this week, along with art comes household duty and that includes getting the fall/winter clothes out for us and going to the nursing home to do Mom’s as well. The chill is in the air and it’s time to pack summer away once more….

2 Comments »

  1. Debby Singleton Said:

    You said it was just you and Maggie and she doesn’t care what you do as long as she gets her meals, treats, walks and loving….she almost sounds like a husband!! LOL! Congrats on all the great art-time and the art show! You go girl. I want to retire and do art!!!! Wish I wasn’t so far away; I’d love to see your show and all your art. Next time I’m in the Pocies, I’m coming to see you.

  2. Oh Deb, I so wish that you would! I’d love to see you again!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

