My Perfect Christmas

Victorian Santa

                                       My Perfect Christmas

                                    by Maron Craig Bielovitz

“Twas the week before Christmas and all though the place

wreaths made of pine and snowflakes of lace

were decking the hallways… and framing each door

were glittering garlands and holly galore.

The stockings were pressed and ready to hang.

And my fruitcakes had aged to a very nice tang.

The children had quietly finished their chores and,

now bundled up warmly, were playing outdoors.

Pappa came home at a quarter past three

so we could go out to cut our own tree.

The first one we looked at seemed the right size

and the trunk wasn’t crooked…what a surprise!

The tree was trimmed with the trains chuggling ’round

while the children sang carrols – such a heavenly sound!

In those few leisure hours, I did all my baking

and finished the very last gift I was making.

Christmas cards  (which I wrote out on Thanksgiving Day)

were stamped and sealed and on their way!

The house was all cleaned, the gifts were all wrapped.

Plans for the holiday dinner were mapped.

I remember thinking…”I deserve a rest”…

“I’ll lie down for a while to resore my zest!.”

So why do I feel like I’m ready to scream?

‘Cuz I woke up to find… it was only a dream!!!!!

8 Comments »

  1. But what a great dream that must’ve been! I found myself mentally applauding you when I got to the part about addressing Christmas cards on Thanksgiving!

    Kim

    • theartfulcodger Said:

      Kim, That was actually a remembrance from my childhood because my Mom really did write her cards out on Thanksgiving Day!! Three cheers for the stay at home Moms of our youth, right?!

  2. Bonnie Gogolski Said:

    That would be my dream too! =)

    • theartfulcodger Said:

      But you do remember the part about the cards being true from our childhood, eh?

  3. Beverley Baird Said:

    Lovely poem. Merry Christmas!

    • theartfulcodger Said:

      Thank you Beverly. And a Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  4. leah Said:

    ha!! What a perfect holiday poem! Love it! Merry Christmas to you!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

